Rottweiler Discussion Forums

Go Back   Rottweiler Discussion Forums > Rottweiler > Vets Corner
Did you forget your password? Reset it here

Vets Corner This area is designated to the health and welfare of our pets.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2003, 02:38 PM

broken toe nail

Yuck. Just noticed that my male's back toe nail looks to have cracked off and the quick is exposed. It may have happened while running around outside or something. He's lying on the couch so looks fine but just wondering what I can/should do. Here's a picture of what it looks like.

Old 10-07-2003, 02:57 PM
Valued Member

Well, I'm no expert but, I wouldn't do anything.

The exposed area seems to have "hardened", so to speak, and if it's not causing him pain, why do anything.

It doesn't look like a "fresh" break.
Ian, Godspeed, big guy
R'Legacy's Bravo Company "Bravo"

Old 10-07-2003, 04:01 PM

Yeah, I agree. All you really can do is keep an eye on it, that it doesn't develop any other problems with it. I would think it will be OK. It may grow back strange, I've seen them loose a nail and it wasn't right for years but didn't cause any problems beyond looking strange.

Old 10-07-2003, 04:37 PM

Thanks! It just looks like it would be painful but i'll keep an eye on it.
The white paws are because we are renovating our main floor and the dogs are tracking around the drywall dust when they come in.

Old 10-07-2003, 04:49 PM

It looks like my brother in laws rottie girls toenails...she ended up losing ALL of her toenails due to a fungus. Check her other toenails - even those that appear OK...if they seem 'loose' when you wiggle them, I'd give the vet a call, and/or get thedog in to have them checked out.