Rottweiler Discussion Forums

Go Back   Rottweiler Discussion Forums > Rottweiler > Puppy Development
Did you forget your password? Reset it here

Puppy Development Regardless of the problem, lets put everything puppy releated here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2005, 01:52 PM

New puppy socializing with Pug

Hello everyone, I am new to the message boards. I have read a lot of the posts and have learned a lot when it comes to raising Rott's. I apologize for the long post but I just want to make sure that we do what is best for our growing family.

My family has just added our newest member. She is an 8 week old Rott. We got her from a reputable breeder and she comes from a good line. I noticed that the day we brought her home she starting testing my wife and myself almost immediately. Needless to say, after 2 days of "dominance down" and the occasional bitter apple spray, the nipping and occasional growling when we correct her has not happened as much. Now she follows me everywhere and is learning to sit and come very well. She has not tried me, but she still growls and snaps at my wife a little. I am guessing because of the higher voice and the tentativeness in my wifes mannerisms.

The other concern that I have is that we already have a 2 week old pug in our family. The Rott seems to be playing very rough with him. All the Pug wants to do is play, but the Rott wants to grab onto him and not let go. Normally the existing dog would put her in her place. But, he is so passive, that he just puts his tail between his legs and lays there. There is no yelping on his part. Sometimes he just runs away she she "pounces". The Rott does not growl at him either. Is this her way of playing or groundwork for dominance. I feel sorry for him and I am not sure if and how I should correct the Rott when she gets too rough. I do not want to get in a situtation where she is completely dominant over him and they will not be able to play together.