Rottweiler Discussion Forums

Go Back   Rottweiler Discussion Forums > Rottweiler > Nutrition and Grooming > Natural Diets Raw and Cooked
Did you forget your password? Reset it here

Natural Diets Raw and Cooked "Please post your questions about both raw and cooked fresh food diets for your Rottweiler in this subforum. Learn about nutrient requirements, how to introduce a diet change, tips on finding fresh food sources, etc."

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2010, 11:50 AM

Deer carcass, bloody meat, freezer burnt, raw & kibble diet

I'm in a hurry right now so sorry if this post is a bit rambled. Gotta get to town to buy sharp knives to finish cutting a deer carcass before the outside temp gets warm.

I'm brand new to feeding raw. Don't want to go to an entire raw diet, but instead want to give it along with kibble. Currently feeding Canidae ALS grain free. Feeding 250 grams a day and doing well.
Saved the heart & lungs of the deer. Is there anything else I should have saved to feed? Just cut up the heart any ole' way or give the entire heart to dog? Only give a weighed portion out per meal?
I assume there is no particular way that I need to cut up the liver. How much liver to give per meal?
Saved the tenderloins and part of a hindquarter for us. Other hindquarter was hit by the car and meat is bloody in places so not fit for human consumption. Is bloody meat fine to give to dogs?
I intend to cut off the ribs and meat between them for dogs. What about the meat that is at the end of the ribs which was/is part of the body wall? That meat is thin and has fat on it. I did read the post about deer bones so I'll see how the dogs handle the long leg bones.

How much raw can I give before needing to add calcium or phosphorus? Is there a guideline say like give 2 ounces of meat and 2 ounces of bones to balance this out? Found a 5lb pkg of ribs on sale yesterday and bought them.