Rottweiler Discussion Forums

Go Back   Rottweiler Discussion Forums > Rottweiler > General Info
Did you forget your password? Reset it here

General Info What size crate? Where to find insurance? If it doesn't quite fit in the other main forums, it goes here. We will add forums as needed.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2009, 03:42 PM
Novice Member

Any input on Rottie/Chow mix?

Hi :)

I'm hoping some of you will be able to help me or have a little insight into my situation. I'm new to this wonderful and informative forum so please bear with me if this has already been asked. I tried searching for related threads but didn't find anything... and I'm posting in the breeding section because my ultimate question is about a Rottie/Chow mix.

Here is my question:

My significant other and I are adopting a puppy. The humane society believes she is part Rottie, part Chow. She is a 4 month old ball of energy who is going to need lots of attention and training, and we are looking forward to the challenges and rewards of having her join our family.

My concern is in regards to homeowners insurance. I just got off the phone with an insurance agent who when told we were getting a Rottie/Chow mix said they were a "bad mix". When I asked for detail or sources for this comment he had no response. (On a side note we've found a new insurer that has no breed restricions, and have switched already) Anyone out there have any experience with a Rottie/Chow mix? Is this really a bad breed combo, or do you think this was just a case of an uninformed insurance agent with breed prejudice?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Amanda

Old 02-17-2009, 05:01 PM

Re: Any input on Rottie/Chow mix?